Industry Top Performers Win At The Maritime Standard Awards

Industry Top Performers Win At The Maritime Standard Awards 1

On the 21st of October, the sixth annual Maritime Standard Awards was held at the Atlantis Ballroom, The Palm. It celebrated and recognized the achievements of the top performers of the shipping and maritime sector of the region.

It was a glamorous event which showcased why it is considered to be most appreciated award ceremony in the Middle East and Indian Subcontinent for the industry.

More than 700 executives from the shipping, ports, shipbuilding and repair and other relates sectors of the world from about 70 different countries were present at the event. H.E. Eng. Ahmed Mohammed Shareef Al Khoori, Director General of the Federal Transport Authority – Land & Maritime, gave the keynote speech of welcome, in which he said, “The maritime sector is an important incubator of economic growth and diversification, and companies and organisations active in this sector are to be valued and encouraged. That is what these Awards tonight will do.”

The event was hosted by comedian and impressionist, Jon Culshaw. It was held under the patronage of His Highness, Sheikh Ahmed Bin Saeed Al Maktoum, President, Dubai Civil Aviation Authority and Chairman and Chief Executive, Emirates Airline.

The Maritime Standard Awards founder and managing director, Trevor Pereira, commented: “It was a tremendous night and we were honoured to receive His Highness’ patronage for the sixth year in a row. Our aim is to raise the profile of those who are performing to an exceptionally high standard in our industry and I believe we achieved that goal.”

After the deliberation of the judges, a total of 20 awards were presented to individuals and companies. Clive Woodbridge, editor of TMS and chairman of the judges, said, “We received a record number of entries this year, some from established players, but many from emerging companies who will help take the industry forward in years to come. All the entries were of a high standard and this year more than ever before it was difficult to decide who should win Awards. Those who were successful had to overcome tough competition, whatever the category was.”

Apart from the awards that were determined by the judges, TMS team also presented some special awards for the impressive performances. The Maritime Standard Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Eng. Abdullah Aldubaikhi of Bahri; The Personality of the Year Award was given to Captain Mohammed Juma Al Shamsi of Abu Dhabi Ports; The Excellence in Shipping Award went to Sharjah Ports Authority’s Yaqoub Abdullah; while the Outstanding Achievement Award was presented to Imtiaz Shaikh, founder of Tomini Shipping, for his achievements in over 30 years in the industry.

Other awards selected by The Maritime Standard included Dr Aisha Al Busmait, who was presented the Woman in Shipping award, and Ananda Senanayake of Lanka Shipping and Logistics was awarded the title of Young Person in Shipping. The winner of the Deal of the Year was Tomini Shipping of the UAE and the Editor’s Choice Award was given to Dubai Maritime City.

Trevor Pereira added, “It was a pleasure to reward and recognise once again the tremendous achievements of these excellent companies and individuals. The Awards showcase to a global audience the high standards that exist in the region, and the continued progress that is being made. The occasion was both inspiring, and entertaining, and I am proud that the TMS team continues to stage the biggest and best awards for the maritime sector in the region.”

The full list of winners is:

Best Practices Award: Oman Drydock Company

The Corporate Social Responsibility Award: DP World (Sub Continent Region)

Marine Broker of the Year Award: McQuilling Shipping Services DMCC

Energy, Oil and Gas Shipping Award: ADNOC Logistics & Services

Ship Agency of the Year Award: GAC Group

Ship Manager of the Year Award: Bahri Ship Management

Classification Society of the Year Award: DNV GL

Tanker Operator of the Year Award: Kuwait Oil Tanker Company S.A.K

Marine Insurer of the Year: TT Club

The Safety and Security Award: Abu Dhabi Ports

The Maritime Education & Training Award: Hindustan Institute of Maritime Training

Shipyard/ Ship Repair Facility of the Year Award: Drydocks World Dubai

The Technology/Innovations Award: Massterly AS (A Kongsberg Wilhelmsen joint venture)

Port of the Year Award: Abu Dhabi Ports

The Green Shipping Award: Hapag Lloyd

Ship Owner/Operator of the Year: Bahri

The Environment Protection Award: Essar Bulk Terminal Paradip Limited

Terminal Operator of the Year: DP World, UAE Region

Transportation and Logistics Award: Agility (Abu Dhabi) PJSC

Shipping Company of the Year: ADNOC Logistics & Services

Reference: tmsawards

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *